

2024 NMUN • Galápagos (Ecuador) Awards

Philosophy: National Model United Nations (NMUN) advances understanding of the UN and contemporary international issues and has positively impacted the lives of numerous delegates. We urge all delegates and their faculty advisors to maintain an appropriate perspective regarding the awards. No one can observe every action in committee or truly judge an individual's learning and growth. The fundamental basis of the simulation is collaboration and cooperation among nations, which includes working together through multilateral diplomacy. There are no winners and certainly no losers in this process. We believe participation in the simulation is its own reward.

Criteria: The Secretariat uses established <u>awards criteria</u> to select award recipients. Each element – remaining in character, participating in committee, and proper use of the rules of procedure – is equally important to the overall awards determination process. All committees are weighted equally and delegations are rated on a mathematical formula in relation to the total number of committees represented by the individual Member State.

Types: All awards are listed in alphabetical order by Member State (not ranked).

- 1. Overall Delegation Awards (Outstanding, Distinguished, and Honorable Mention) are based on work at NMUN.
- 2. Outstanding Position Paper Awards are given to recognize pre-conference preparation.
- 3. Outstanding Delegates in Committee Awards are selected by vote of the delegates in each committee.

2024 NMUN • Galápagos Award Recipients

Outstanding Delegations		
Angola, Côte D'Ivoire, Russian Federation	University of New Hampshire	
Argentina, Australia, Italy	University of New Haven	
Brazil, Costa Rica, Slovakia	Monash University	
Ethiopia, Japan, Portugal, Spain	The University of Arkansas	
Qatar	Georgia State University	

Distinguished Delegations				
China, Kenya, Norway, United Arab Emirates	University of Texas at Dallas			
Ecuador, Republic of Korea, Viet Nam	Baylor University			
France, Türkiye	MacEwan University			
Iceland	McMurry University			
Saudi Arabia, Sweden	University Erfurt			
United States of America	Cusanuswerk			

Honorable Mention Delegations			
Bangladesh, India	Weber State University		
Bolivia, Colombia, Mexico	West Virginia University		
Cameroon, South Africa, Sudan	Universidad San Francisco de Quito		
Canada	King's College		
Egypt, Kazakhstan, Peru, United Kingdom	Washburn University		
Germany, Myanmar, Pakistan	Stockton University		
Iran	The University of Kitakyushu		
Nigeria	Amherst College		

Outstanding Position Papers				
UNDP - United Nations Development Programme	Canada	King's College		
	Italy	University of New Haven		
	Republic of Korea	Baylor University		
UNEA - United Nations Environment Assembly	France	MacEwan University		
	India	Weber State University		
	Italy	University of New Haven		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Sweden	University Erfurt		
UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization	Argentina	University of New Haven		
	France	MacEwan University		
	Italy	University of New Haven		
UN-Habitat - United Nations Human Settlements Programme	Ecuador	Baylor University		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Republic of Korea	Baylor University		
	Slovakia	Monash University		

Outstanding Delegates in Committee				
UNDP - United Nations Development Programme	Ecuador	Baylor University		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Kenya	University of Texas at Dallas		
UNEA - United Nations Environment Assembly	Australia	University of New Haven		
	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
	Portugal	The University of Arkansas		
UNESCO - United Nations	Argentina	University of New Haven		
Educational, Scientific and	Japan	The University of Arkansas		
Cultural Organization	Spain	The University of Arkansas		
UN-Habitat - United Nations Human Settlements Programme	Brazil	Monash University		
	Qatar	Georgia State University		
	Slovakia	Monash University		